Registering to Vote

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

There is no waiting period to register to vote in Nebraska. You may register to vote the same day you become a Nebraska resident.

Here are some convenient ways to register to vote in Nebraska:

Register to Vote Online

  • Complete an online voter registration at NEReg2Vote. This application is available 24/7 and accessible by computer as well as mobile devices.

  • You may register in person at your county election office.

  • You may register in person through the state Department of Motor Vehicles when applying for or renewing your driver's license. Additionally, you can complete an online voter registration through the DMV when you renew or order a duplicate driver’s license.

  • You may also register through the state Department of Health and Human Services and State Department of Education at the time of application, review or change of address in connection with public programs.

  • An online voter registration application can be printed for your use. You must mail your application to your county election office. Addresses for the offices are listed on the form.

  • If registering for the first time in Nebraska by mail, please provide a copy of a current and valid photo ID, or a copy of a utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck or other government document which is dated within 60 days immediately prior to the date of presentation showing the same name and residence address provided on the voter registration application to avoid delays with your registration.

  • You must sign your Voter Registration Application before it is returned to your County Clerk/Election Commissioner’s office.

Qualifications

You must meet the following qualifications to register to vote:

  • Age
    • To register to vote you must be 18 years old.
    • If you are 17 years old and will be 18 by the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November of this year, you can register.
  • Residence
    • To register, you must be resident of Nebraska and of the county where you are registering. If you move to another county, you must re-register.
  • Citizenship
    • You must be a United States citizen in order to register to vote.
  • Felony Conviction
    • If you have been convicted of a felony, either in Nebraska or another state or in federal court, you cannot register to vote until two years after the completion of your sentence including any probation or parole term.
  • Mentally Incompetent (Non compos mentis)
    • If you have been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, you cannot register to vote.

Deadlines to Register to Vote

The following are the deadlines to register to vote in Nebraska:

  • Mail-in voter registrations must be mailed and postmarked on or before the third Friday preceding an election.

  • Registrations completed at the state Department of Motor Vehicles must be completed by the third Friday preceding an election.

  • Voter registrations delivered by personal messenger or personal agent must arrive on or before the third Friday preceding an election.

  • Individuals may register in person at the County Clerk/Election Commissioner’s office prior to 6 p.m. on the second Friday preceding an election.

Deadlines are subject to change due to weekends and holidays. Please see the Official Election Calendar for deadlines specific to this election cycle.

Useful Links

Click here to obtain a voter registration application.

Click here to obtain contact information for county election offices.

If you are from out of state, click here to find the appropriate contact information for your state.

Students residing out of Nebraska

Do I have to be registered to vote?

  • Yes, voter registration is required in Nebraska to be eligible to vote.

  • The only exception is at a Presidential election for persons who have recently moved to Nebraska, or moved to another state after that state’s registration deadline. They may vote a Presidential-only ballot by contacting the county election official.

Must I designate a party affiliation?

  • No, voters may choose from one of the three statewide parties currently recognized in Nebraska:  Democratic, Republican and Libertarian or they may choose to not affiliate with any party by checking the non-partisan box on the application.

  • If you wish to vote in the primary election, where parties choose their nominees for state and county offices, you need to declare your party affiliation. 

  • If you register without a political party affiliation, you will receive only the non-partisan ballots at a primary election.

  • Non-partisans may designate a party preference at primary elections and receive partisan ballots for the Senate and House congressional races.

  • Party designation has no bearing when voting a non-partisan ballot or in the general election. 

Are there situations where I would need to re-register?

You must re-register whenever you change

  • Your name,

  • Your address, or

  • Your political party affiliation.

  • Failure to vote in a previous election does not require re-registration

Will I receive notice that my mail-in registration has been accepted and processed?

  • Yes, if you completed the form correctly and mailed it by the deadline (third Friday prior to the election), you will receive an acknowledgment from the election official that you are properly registered.

  • If you are a first time registrant in Nebraska using the mail in application and did not provide a copy of your current and valid ID or a form of address verification (utility bill, bank statement, etc.) for first time mail in registrants, you will notified of the need to do so.

  • If you have questions on your registration, call your County Clerk/Election Commissioner.

How is residence determined?

  • By law, your residence is that place at which you have established a home, where you are habitually present, and to which, when you depart, you intend to return.

  • Leaving for temporary purposes, such as military service, school attendance, hospital stays, or missions work need not result in a change of residence for voting purposes.

  • However, any permanent change in your residence or address will require you to re-register to vote.