Private Detectives

Effective Thursday, March 19, 2020 until further notice:

During this period of Coronavirus adjustment, the Secretary of State’s Office is taking proactive measures and has suspended all in-person services.  Limited staff will be in the office to process work but will not be opening the doors to the public.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we have implemented new procedures to ensure that your application will be processed while keeping staff members safe. Due to these procedures, it may take us longer to process your application and mail out your license certificate and ID cards. Currently, we are seeing application processing times between 7-10 business days.  We understand this may be concerning to you as you may not receive your certificate and ID card prior to the expiration of your current license.  Please know that as long as you have submitted your completed renewal application to our office before the renewal deadline of June 30, 2020, you may continue to operate and there will be no interruption of your license.

We appreciate your patience during this time. If you need to contact us, please do so by email at sos.licensing@nebraska.gov.

If you have not submitted your renewal application, please do so as soon as possible.

 

 

Private Detective List as of 2-7-2020  

Private Detective Agency List as of 2-7-2020
Plain Clothes Investigator List as of 2-7-2020

Requirements for Licensing

Statutes

Rules and Regulations

An application for private detective, private detective agency, or plain clothes investigator must be requested from the Licensing Division. Requirements for these licenses can found here. Please note that prior to issuance of each license, the Nebraska State Patrol will conduct an investigation on the character and reputation of each individual applying for a license. The investigation may take up to 90 days to complete.

Interested applicants must complete the application for any license and meet all of the minimum requirements prior to taking the examination. The testing of all eligible applicants is held on the third Wednesday of each month at 10 a.m. at the our office location: 1201 N. Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, Nebraska. Applicants who are interested in taking the test should contact the Licensing Division at (402) 471-2385 prior to taking the examination.

 

Contact Information

Phone: (402) 471-2385
Fax: (402) 471-2530
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 94608, Lincoln, NE 68509-4608
Location: 1201 N Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE 68508
Send E-Mail to: Licensing