Elections Division

The Secretary of State serves as Nebraska’s chief election officer. Working with election officials in the state’s 93 counties, the Elections Division oversees election law, the conduct of elections in the state, election tabulation equipment and the state voter registration system. The division accepts candidate filings and tabulates results for statewide, legislative, judicial retention and certain district elections. The division oversees filings for statewide initiative and referendum petitions.

Phone: (402) 471-2555
Fax: (402) 471-7834
TTY: (402) 471-7229
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 94608, Lincoln, NE 68509-4608
Location: 1221 N Street, Suite 103, Lincoln, NE 68508
Email: sos.elect@nebraska.gov

Elections Team

Wayne Bena, Deputy SOS - Elections
Andrew Buller, Assistant Deputy for Elections
Jennifer Hammond, Elections Coordinator
Ben Larsen, Elections Specialist I
Abbie Overturf, Administrative Assistant

Nebraska Voter Information Lookup

Register to vote online

Active Voter Registrations*

Republican: 603,981
Democratic: 346,178
Libertarian: 18,237
Legal Marijuana NOW: 2,464
Nonpartisan: 267,843
Total: 1,238,703
*As of June 1, 2022

Next Statewide Election

06/28/2022 Special U.S. Congressional District 1 Election

Dates & Deadlines

11:00 A.M. Board of State Canvassers certify election results

9 A.M. Conduct recounts for candidates who filed with the Secretary of State

Deadline for political subdivisions who appear only on the general election ballot to certify the offices to be filled, terms, vacancies, votes cast, and filing deadlines for each office

Special Election - U.S. Congressional District 1

Deadline for filing initiative petitions.