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Offices for 2022 Elections 
Which offices are up for election in 2022? 
Partisan Offices: A candidate must be registered to vote as a member of one of the four 
recognized political parties in Nebraska (Republican, Democratic, Libertarian, & Legal 
Marijuana NOW). 

 
Partisan statewide offices up for election in 2022 include: 

• U.S. Representative in Congress (Congressional Districts 1, 2, & 3) 
• Governor & Lieutenant Governor 
• Secretary of State 
• State Treasurer 
• Attorney General 
• Auditor of Public Accounts 
• Public Service Commissioner (Districts 4 & 5) 

 
Nonpartisan Offices: A candidate runs for office without regard to their political party or lack 
thereof. A candidate’s political party will not be noted on the ballot. 
 
Nonpartisan statewide offices up for election in 2022 include: 

• Legislature (even-numbered districts) 
• State Board of Education (Districts 5, 6, 7, & 8) 
• Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska (Districts 6 & 7) 
• Community Colleges 
• Learning Community Coordinating Council (odd-numbered districts) 
• Natural Resources Districts 
• Metropolitan Utilities District of Omaha 
• Public Power (& Irrigation) Districts 
• Education Service Units (odd-numbered districts) 
• Reclamation Districts 

Note: A candidate for a partisan office cannot change their political party from one party to 
another after December 3, 2021 (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-612). This does not include going from 
having no political party affiliation (registered nonpartisan) to declaring a political party 
affiliation. 

https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-612
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What are the qualifications for public office? 
Different public offices have different qualifications. Below are the qualifications for certain 
statewide offices. 
 

Elected Office References and Statutes Filing Qualifications 

U.S. House of Representatives US Constitution I-2 
Nebraska Revised Statute §32-503 

• Registered voter in Nebraska 
• Nebraska resident when elected 
• United States citizen for 7 years 
• At least 25 years of age 

Governor & Lieutenant 
Governor 

Nebraska Constitution IV-1 
Nebraska Constitution IV-2 
Nebraska Revised Statute §32-506 

• Registered voter in Nebraska 
• United States citizen for 5 years 
• Nebraska resident for 5 years 
• At least 30 years of age 
• Lt. Gov. must be same party as 
Gov. 

Secretary of State Nebraska Revised Statute §32-507 • Registered voter in Nebraska 

State Treasurer Nebraska Constitution IV-3 
Nebraska Revised Statute §32-507 • Registered voter in Nebraska 

Attorney General Nebraska Revised Statute §32-507 • Registered voter in Nebraska 

Auditor of Public Accounts Nebraska Revised Statute §32-507 • Registered voter in Nebraska 

Public Service Commissioner 
Nebraska Constitution IV-20 
Nebraska Revised Statute §32-509 
Nebraska Revised Statute §75-101 

• Registered voter of the district 

Legislature 
Nebraska Constitution III-8 
Nebraska Constitution III-9 
Nebraska Revised Statute §32-508 

• Resident of the district for 1 year 
prior to election 

• Attain the age of 21 prior to 
election 

State Board of Education Nebraska Revised Statute §32-511 
Nebraska Revised Statute §79-313  

• Registered voter in Nebraska  
• Resident of the district for 6 
months prior to election 

Board of Regents of the 
University of Nebraska Nebraska Revised Statute §32-510 • Registered voter of the district 

Community Colleges Nebraska Revised Statute §32-514 
Nebraska Revised Statute §85-1512 

• Registered voter of the district 
or area 

• Resident of the district or area 
for 6 months 

Learning Community 
Coordinating Council 

Nebraska Revised Statute §32-555.01 
Nebraska Revised Statute §32-546.01 

• Qualified elector of the 
subcouncil district 

Natural Resource Districts Nebraska Revised Statute §32-513 
Nebraska Revised Statute §2-3214 

• Registered voter of the 
subdistrict OR 

• If an at-large candidate, resident 
of the district 

https://constitution.congress.gov/constitution/article-1/
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-503
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/articles.php?article=IV-1
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/articles.php?article=IV-2
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-506
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-507
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/articles.php?article=IV-3
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-507
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-507
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-507
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/articles.php?article=IV-20
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-509
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=75-101
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/articles.php?article=III-8
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/articles.php?article=III-9
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-508
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-511
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-313
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-510
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-514
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=85-1512
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-555.01
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-546.01
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-513
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=2-3214
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Elected Office References and Statutes Filing Qualifications 

Metropolitan Utilities District 
of Omaha 

Nebraska Revised Statute §32-540 
Nebraska Revised Statute §14-2102 

• Registered voter of the district  
• One member shall reside 
outside the corporate limits of 
Omaha 

Public Power Districts > $40 
million (Dawson PPD, Loup 
River PPD, NPPD, Norris PPD, 
OPPD, Southern PPD)  

Nebraska Revised Statute §32-512 
Nebraska Revised Statute §70-610 
Nebraska Revised Statute §70-619 

• Registered voter residing within 
the chartered territory or 
subdivision OR  

• A retail customer duly certified 

Public Power Districts < $40 
million 

Nebraska Revised Statute §32-512 
Nebraska Revised Statute §70-610 
Nebraska Revised Statute §70-619 

• Registered voter residing within 
the chartered territory or 
subdivision OR 

• A retail customer duly certified 

Reclamation Districts 
Nebraska Revised Statute §32-516 
Nebraska Revised Statute §46-516 
Nebraska Revised Statute §46-530 

• Qualified elector of the district 

Educational Service Unit Board 
Members 

Nebraska Revised Statute §32-515 
Nebraska Revised Statute §79-1217 

• Registered voter residing within 
the ESU area 

 

Can I run for ____ office and ____ office at the same time? 
Certain high offices cannot hold or run for more than one office at a time.  
 
HIGH OFFICE 
Offices that cannot hold more than one office or run for more than one office at a time 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-603) 
 

U.S. House of Representatives 
Governor & Lieutenant Governor 
Secretary of State 
State Treasurer 
Attorney General 
Auditor of Public Accounts 
Public Service Commissioner 
Legislature 
State Board of Education 
Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska 
 

OTHER HIGH OFFICES 
High offices can hold one or more low office at the same time 
Can run for 1 high and 1 or more low offices, but not 2 high offices at the same time 
 

Community College (§85-1512 – may not hold office on any other board relating to education) 
Learning Community Coordinating Council 
County Office (including Weed Board) 

https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-540
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=14-2102
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-512
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=70-610
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=70-619
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-512
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=70-610
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=70-619
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-516
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=46-516
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=46-530
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-515
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=79-1217
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-603
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=85-1512
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City Officer 
Class I School District Board Member (including those elected at the annual board meeting) 
School Board Member 
 

LOW OFFICES 
Natural Resources District 
Metropolitan Utilities District of Omaha 
Public Power District 
Reclamation District 
Educational Service Unit 
Airport Authority 
Township Officer 
SID Board Member 
Village Board of Trustees 

Can a former felon hold public office? 
A person who was convicted of a felony cannot hold office unless his or her civil rights have 
been restored in accordance with Neb. Rev. Stat. §29‐112. 
 
If the felony was committed in Nebraska, he or she would need to be pardoned by the State of 
Nebraska Board of Pardons. More information can be found at pardons.nebraska.gov 
 
The civil right to hold office is separate from the civil right to vote. Voting rights are restored 
two years after the sentence is completed, including any parole (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-313). 
 
  

https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=29-112
http://www.pardons.nebraska.gov/
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-313
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When, Where, & How Much? 
When does the candidate filing period start for 2022? 
Filing for office starts January 5. For offices that appear on the primary election ballot, the 
incumbent (any current office holder) deadline is February 15 and the non-incumbent (new 
filer) deadline is March 1. 
 
For offices that only appear on the general election ballot, the incumbent filing deadline is July 
15 and the non-incumbent deadline is August 1. 

Where do I file? 
Statewide offices file with the Secretary of State’s office. These include: 

• U.S. Representative in Congress 
• Governor & Lieutenant Governor 
• Secretary of State 
• State Treasurer 
• Attorney General 
• Auditor of Public Accounts 
• Public Service Commissioner 
• Legislature 
• State Board of Education 
• Board of Regents of the University of 

Nebraska 

• Community Colleges 
• Learning Community Coordinating 

Council 
• Natural Resources Districts 
• Metropolitan Utilities District of 

Omaha 
• Public Power Districts 
• Reclamation Districts 
• Education Service Units

 
If you wish to file in-person, you can go to the Elections Division office at: 

1221 N St., Ste. 103 
Lincoln, NE 68508 

 
If you wish to have a picture taken with the Secretary of State after you have filed your 
candidate paperwork at the Elections Division, you must schedule an appointment by calling 
(402) 471-2554. 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-111 defines an incumbent as a “person whom the canvassers or the courts 
declare elected to an elective office or who has been appointed to an elective office.” If you 
hold any elected office, you are an incumbent and the incumbent deadline applies, even if you 
are filing for an office other than the one you currently hold. 

https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-111
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How much are the filing fees? 
 

FILING FEE SCHEDULE FOR 2022 
 

OFFICE SALARY ($) FILING FEE ($) 
 

United States Senator ................................ 174,000 .......................................................... 1,740 
Representative in Congress ....................... 174,000 .......................................................... 1,740 
Governor .................................................... 105,000 .......................................................... 1,050 
Secretary of State ........................................ 85,000 ............................................................. 850 
State Treasurer ............................................ 85,000 ............................................................. 850 
Attorney General .......................................... 95,000 ............................................................. 950 
Auditor of Public Accounts ........................... 85,000 ............................................................. 850 
Public Service Commissioner ...................... 75,000 ............................................................. 750 
Legislature ................................................... 12,000 ............................................................. 120 
State Board of Education ........................................................................................................ 25 
Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska ..................................................................... 25 
Metropolitan Utilities District of Omaha ................................................................................... 25 
Public Power Districts > $40 million (OPPD, NPPD, Southern, Loup River, Norris, & Dawson Power Districts) .............. 25 
Public Power Districts < $40 million (all other power districts) ............................................................ 10 
Reclamation Districts .............................................................................................................. 10 
Community Colleges ................................................................................................ No filing fee 
Educational Service Units ........................................................................................ No filing fee 
Natural Resource Districts ....................................................................................... No filing fee 
Learning Community Coordinating Council .............................................................. No filing fee 
County Offices ......................................................................................................... 1% of salary 
Municipal Offices (if salary exceeds $500) ............................................................... 1% of salary 
Delegate to Convention ........................................................................................... No filing fee 

 
 

Do you take debit or credit cards? 
No — filing fees can only be paid with cash, money order, or check. 
 

To whom do I make a check out to? 
Checks should be made payable to the Secretary of State. 
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Do I need to pay a filing fee if I am a write-in candidate? 
Write-in candidates are required to pay the appropriate filing fee for the office they are 
seeking when they file their write-in affidavit (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-608). 
 

If I drop out of a race, can I get a refund? 
A refund is only given if a candidate dies prior to an election, in which case the spouse of the 
candidate can request a refund prior to the election (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-608). 
 

When do judges file for retention? 
Judges are up for retention during the first general election that occurs more than 3 years 
after their appointment and every 6 years thereafter (Neb. Constitution V-21). Judicial 
officeholders up for retention in 2022 must file by Aug. 1 (Neb. Rev. Stat. §24-814). 
  

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-608
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-608
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/articles.php?article=V-21
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=24-814
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Filling out the Filing Form 
 

You can find candidate filing forms for statewide offices on the Secretary of State’s website at 
sos.nebraska.gov or by stopping by the Elections Division at 1221 N St., Ste. 103 in Lincoln. 
 
To successfully complete a candidate filing form, you must fill out all required sections, 
including checking the box stating you do not owe civil penalties. 
 
Write any information in the optional section that you would like to have included on the 
public candidate filing list. 
 
Sign the form in front of an election official, such as a county clerk, or a notary public. Double-
check your filing form, making sure there are no clerical errors that might delay the effective 
date of your filing. 
 
Send the original, notarized form along with any required filing fee to: 

Secretary of State, Elections Division 
P.O. Box 94608 
Lincoln, NE 68509 

 

Can I have my name printed on the ballot with a prefix (Mr., Dr., etc.) or 
nickname? 
Attorney General Opinion 10001 (January 5, 2010) describes permissible names for use on the 
ballot. Prefixes such as “Mr.,” “Dr.,” and “Prof.” are titles and therefore cannot appear on the 
ballot. 
 
Additionally, nicknames cannot be used as an additional identifier; a name cannot appear on 
the ballot as “John ‘Jack’ Smith,” but either “John Smith” or “Jack Smith” are allowed. 
 

What is a pronunciation or spoken spelling? 
If you were to explain in words how to say your name, how would you do that? We have 
machines at the polling places that read the ballot out loud for persons with limited vision and 
we want to ensure your name is said correctly. 

For Example: 
Sue Jahn = Sue Hahn (rhymes with fawn) 
William Mishaud = mee-SHO (‘d’ is silent) 
Tanya Monte =TAWN –yuh (not TAN) mahn-TEA 

https://sos.nebraska.gov/
https://ago.nebraska.gov/opinions/permissible-names-use-candidate-filing-papers-and-ballot-nebraska
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Do I need to get my candidate filing form notarized? 
Yes, you must sign your candidate filing form in front of an election official or a notary public 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §23-1307). The Elections Division can notarize your signature if you file in-
person. 
 
Can I email or fax my candidate filing form? 
You cannot email your candidate filing form; however, you can fax your candidate filing form 
and a copy of your cash, money order, or check (if applicable) to our fax machine at (402) 471-
7834. The fax must be received in our office on or before the deadline. You are also required 
to mail your original filing form — it must be postmarked on or before the deadline and 
received in the Secretary of State’s office no later than seven days after the filing deadline 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-606). 
 
How will I know that my candidate filing was accepted? 
When your candidate filing is accepted, our office will send you a confirmation letter with a 
copy of your filing. You can also check the list of candidates who have filed on our website. 
 
What happens if my filing is rejected? 
A candidate filing form can be rejected for several reasons. Some rejection reasons include: 

• The registered voter’s name listed on your filing form does not match the name listed 
on your voter registration. 

 

• The address listed on your filing form does not match the address listed on your voter 
registration. 

 

• The address listed on your filing form is not within the district for which you are filing. 
 

• The checkbox was not checked to state that you do not owe civil penalties pursuant to 
the Nebraska Political Accountability and Disclosure Act. 

 

• The candidate filing form was incorrectly notarized. 
 

• The candidate filing form was not signed by the candidate in front of a notary public or 
election official. 

 

• The candidate filing form was received after the filing deadline. 
 

• The applicable filing fee was not included with the candidate filing form. 
 

Our office will attempt to call and will send a letter detailing why your filing was rejected along 
with the original filing form and any filing fees that were submitted. Unless otherwise 
indicated, you can file a new candidate filing form with our office. Filing deadlines still apply.  

https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=23-1307
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-606
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Petitioning onto the Ballot 
Petitioning for partisan offices 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-616 states any person may petition onto the ballot who was not registered 
to vote with a party affiliation on or after March 1 and before the general election in the 
calendar year of the general election may file petitions for a partisan office. You cannot have 
been registered with a recognized political party between the start of the filing period and the 
end of the filing period. If there is a vacancy (created by someone ceasing to be a candidate), 
the vacancy shall only be filled by the political party (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-627). A vacancy is not 
created when no one filed for a partisan office in the primary. 
 

Petitioning for nonpartisan offices 
A person may only petition onto the general election ballot if the vacancy requirements 
described in Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-625 are met. If a nominated candidate declines their 
nomination, you may petition onto the ballot for the general election even if you lost the 
nomination in the primary. If there were no candidate filings for the office, you may petition 
onto the ballot. 
 

When is there a vacancy on the ballot?  
A vacancy on the general election ballot exists when: 

• The candidates who have filed number less than twice the number of vacancies AND a 
candidate who filed for the primary ceases to be a candidate or declines the nomination 

 

• No one filed for the position (nonpartisan races only) 
 

• One of the candidates who received a nomination from the primary for a nonpartisan 
office is ineligible, disqualified, deceased, or for any other reason unable to assume the 
office for which he or she was a candidate 

A vacancy does NOT exist on the ballot when: 
• No person was nominated for the office on any particular political party’s partisan ballot 

(Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-627) 

Where do I get candidate petitions? 
If you are interested in petitioning onto the ballot, you can contact our office to receive the 
correct petition forms. Our office requests samples of your candidate petition prior to 
circulation so we are aware that your petition is circulating. 
 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-616
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-627
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-625
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-627
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What are the rules regarding petition circulation? 
There are rules for the individuals who circulate the petition forms as well as those who sign 
the forms. 
 
Rules for circulators of petition forms are as follows: 
 

1. Circulators must be at least eighteen years of age. 
 

2. Circulators must witness each signature added to the petition he or she is circulating. 
A circulator may not leave the petition at a location and return later to collect a 
completed form, as circulators are required to read the object statement on the petition 
to each signer; they also will have to sign an oath attesting to the fact that they did this. 

 

3. Circulators may not offer or give anything of value to a potential signer to get them to 
sign the petition; it is a crime to do so, with a penalty of up to a year in jail and/or a 
$1,000 fine. 

 

4. Circulators may be paid or may be volunteers. If the circulator is paid to circulate the 
petition, he or she must use a petition form that discloses to the signer that they are 
being paid. If the circulator is a volunteer, the form must contain the volunteer 
disclosure. 

 

5. When the circulator is finished collecting signatures on the petition form, he or she 
must sign the oath on the form in the presence of a notary public. The circulator 
should read the oath carefully, as there are criminal penalties for falsely swearing to the 
oath. 

 
Once a petition form is completed, the circulator should return the petition form to the 
sponsor(s) of the petition. 
 
Rules for signers of petition forms are as follows: 
 

1. The signer must be a registered voter at the time he or she signs the petition. By 
signing the petition, the signer is stating that he or she is a registered voter. 

 

2. A signer may not sign any name other than his or her own to a petition. 
 

3. A signer may not sign a petition more than once. 
 

4. The signer may not accept anything of value for signing the petition. 
 
If a signer makes a mistake as they sign the petition, it is permissible to cross out the incorrect 
signature line without affecting the other signatures on the petition. 
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How many signatures do I need to collect? (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-618): 
 

Elective Offices Number of Signatures Required 

U.S. House of Representatives 
• 20% of registered voters in the applicable district 
who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Governor • At least 4,000 
• At least 750 in each congressional district 

Secretary of State • At least 4,000 
• At least 750 in each congressional district 

State Treasurer • At least 4,000 
• At least 750 in each congressional district 

Attorney General • At least 4,000 
• At least 750 in each congressional district 

Auditor of Public Accounts • At least 4,000 
• At least 750 in each congressional district 

Public Service Commissioner 
• 20% of registered voters in the applicable district 
who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Legislature 
• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

State Board of Education 
• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Board of Regents of the University of 
Nebraska 

• 10% of registered voters of the regent district who 
voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 1,000 

Community Colleges 
• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Learning Community Coordinating 
Council 

• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Natural Resource Districts 
• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Metropolitan Utilities District of Omaha 
•10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Public Power Districts > $40 million 
 
(Dawson PPD, Loup River PPD, NPPD, 
Norris PPD, OPPD, Southern PPD)  

• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Public Power Districts < $40 million 
• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Reclamation Districts 
• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

Educational Service Unit Board Members 
• 10% of registered voters of the applicable political 
subdivision who voted for President in 2020 
• Not to exceed 2,000 

https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-618
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Where can I circulate my petition? 
There are few specific restrictions as to where a circulator may gather signatures. There may 
be time and place restrictions on public property so as not to disrupt activities at those 
locations. Circulation on private property is at the discretion of the property owner. 
 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-1524 restricts petitions from being circulated within 200 feet of a polling 
place or building that is set up for voters to cast ballots. This includes county election official’s 
offices during early voting. 
 

When is the deadline to file a completed petition? 
The deadline to file a petition to place your name on the ballot is September 1, 2022. Along 
with the petition, you must pay the appropriate filing fee for the office you are seeking to run 
for. 
 

What happens after filing the petition? 
After you file a petition, our office will complete the signature verification process. If you 
submit a successful petition, our office will notify you within three days after the signatures 
are verified that you have received the nomination. You must file an acceptance of nomination 
with our office within five days of being notified. Once the acceptance is filed, your name will 
appear on the ballot (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-617). 
 

How will my name appear on the ballot? 
Your name will be placed on the ballot as listed on your petition and the words “BY PETITION” 
will be printed after your name (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-617).  

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-1524
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-617
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-617
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Write-In Candidates 

If I file as a write-in, will my name be placed on the ballot? 
Your name will not be placed on the ballot. Every office for election is required to have a write-
in line below the filed candidates on the ballot for that race. Individuals choosing to vote for 
you will need to write your name on the write-in line and shade in the corresponding oval 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-816). 
 

Will a write-in vote still count if my name is spelled wrong? 
Write-in candidate names that are misspelled are still counted as long as it is a reasonably 
close spelling of the last name (Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-1005). 
 

How are write-in votes counted? 
Write-in votes are not counted individually if the total number of write-ins total less than five 
percent of the vote for such office in the county and the election commissioner or county clerk 
believes that such vote will not impact the outcome of the election. In that case, the number 
of write-in votes for that office may be counted and listed together as one total (Neb. Rev. 
Stat. §32-1008). 
 

How do I win the nomination as a write-in? 
A write-in candidate wins the nomination during the primary election if (a) they receive at 
least 5% of the total votes cast for President in the 2020 general election and (b) is one of the 
candidates receiving the number of votes qualifying them for the nomination (Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§32-814). 
 

Where do I file a write-in affidavit? 
You can file a write-in affidavit for any public office. You can find the write-in affidavit on the 
Secretary of State’s website at sos.nebraska.gov or at the Elections Division at 1221 N. St., Ste. 
103 in Lincoln. You must file a write-in affidavit by the following dates: 
 

Primary write-in candidate deadline: May 2, 2022 
General write-in candidate deadline: October 28, 2022 

 

You must include the appropriate filing fee with the write-in affidavit. Write-in affidavits for 
statewide offices must be filed with the Secretary of State. 

A write-in candidate is a candidate who did not file with our office as a candidate to be placed 
on the ballot but can be nominated or elected. 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-816
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-1005
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-1008
https://www.nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-814
https://sos.nebraska.gov/
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Can I ask voters to use a sticker with my name on the write-in line? 
Our office strongly advises against this, as stickers would jam tabulating equipment and could 
fall off or be tampered with. 
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Withdrawing as a Candidate 
Can I withdraw before a primary or general election? 
A candidate who wishes to withdraw before an election must do so by the following dates: 
 

Candidates who file for the primary election: March 1, 2022 
Candidates who file for the general election: August 1, 2022 

 

To withdraw, you must fill out a Candidate Withdrawal form and submit it to the Secretary of 
State’s office. This form is available on our website on the “Candidate Filing Resources” page. 
 

What happens if I miss the withdrawal deadline? 
Candidates who miss the withdraw deadline will appear on the ballot.  
 
However, if you win the primary nomination, you may choose to fill out a declination of 
nomination. The deadline to file the declination of nomination is September 1 (Neb. Rev. Stat. 
§32-623). 
 
If you miss the declination of nomination deadline, your name will appear on the general 
election ballot. 
  

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-623
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Campaign Finance & Campaigning 
Nebraska Accountability and Disclosure Commission (NADC) 

Centre Terrace Bldg. 
1225 L St., #400 
P.O. Box 95086 

Lincoln, NE 68509 
Phone: (402) 471-2522 

 

Do I need to file a C-1 Statement of Financial Interest with the NADC?
 

Elective Offices C-1 
Required 

U.S. House of Representatives X 
Governor  
Secretary of State  
State Treasurer  
Attorney General  
Auditor of Public Accounts  
Public Service Commissioner  
Legislature  
State Board of Education  
Board of Regents of the University of 
Nebraska  
Public Power Districts > $40 million 
(Dawson PPD, Loup River PPD, NPPD, 
Norris PPD, OPPD, Southern PPD)  

 
Public Power Districts < $40 million  
Community Colleges X 
Learning Community Coordinating 
Council X 
Natural Resource Districts X 
Metropolitan Utilities District of 
Omaha X 
Reclamation Districts X 
Educational Service Unit Board 
Members X 

 

 
Candidates required to submit a C-1 must 
file a statement covering the preceding 
calendar year, regardless of if you ran for or 
held public office that previous year. 
Applicable statutes include §49-1493 and 
§49-1494.

 

Candidates for U.S. House of 
Representatives do not need to file a C-1 
form. Candidates for this office should 
contact the Federal Election Commission 
(FEC) for campaign-related questions: 
www.fec.gov 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=49-1493
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=49-1494
http://www.fec.gov/
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Where can I find the C-1? 
You can find the C-1 form on the NADC’s website at nadc.nebraska.gov 
 

Can I email or fax my C-1? 
The NADC accepts C-1 forms by hard copy, fax, and email. It must be received by the NADC on 
or before March 1, 2022. 
 

What happens if I miss the deadline to file a C-1? 
There is a five-day grace period before a candidate is removed from the ballot. The NADC will 
accept C-1 forms up until March 7, 2022. If your C-1 is not filed by that date, your name will 
not appear on the primary election ballot (Neb. Rev. Stat. §49-1494). 
 

Do I have a conflict of interest? 
Questions regarding conflicts of interest should be directed to the NADC. 
 

Is it too early to campaign or put out yard signs? 
There is nothing in the Election Act that states when people can start campaigning. Double-
check your local ordinances for any restrictions. 
 
Contact the NADC if you have any questions. 
 

Where can I put campaign materials? 
Subject to any local ordinance, a person may display yard signs on private property within 200 
feet of a polling place or building designated for voters to cast ballots if the property is not 
under common ownership with the property on which the polling place or building is located 
(Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-1524). 
 
  

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=49-1494
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-1524
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What is electioneering? 
Electioneering is defined in Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-1524, which states: 
 

(1) For purposes of this section: 
 

(a) Electioneering means the deliberate, visible display or audible or physical 
dissemination of information for the purpose of advocating for or against: 

 

(i) Any candidate on the ballot for the election at which such display or 
dissemination is occurring; 

 

(ii) Any elected officeholder of a state constitutional office or federal office at the 
time of the election at which such display or dissemination is occurring; 

 

(iii) Any political party on the ballot for the election at which such display or 
dissemination is occurring; or 

 

(iv) Any measure on the ballot for the election at which such display or 
dissemination is occurring; and 

 

(b) Information includes: 
 

(i) Such a candidate's name, likeness, logo, or symbol; 
 

(ii) Such a ballot measure's number, title, subject matter, logo, or symbol; 
 

(iii) A button, hat, pencil, pen, shirt, sign, or sticker containing information 
prohibited by this section; 

 

(iv) Audible information prohibited by this section; and 
 

(v) Literature or any writing or drawing referring to a candidate, officeholder, or 
ballot measure described in subdivision (a) of this subsection. 

 

Can I campaign at the polls? 
No. Electioneering is prohibited within two hundred feet of a polling place. This include the 
county election official’s office during the early voting period. 
 

Where can I get a list of people who were sent an early voting ballot? 
Campaigns can request a list of those who have voted early in statewide elections by 
contacting the Secretary of State’s office at sos.elect@nebraska.gov. The early voting list is 
public record pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §84-712.01 and does not include any information 
that is considered confidential under Neb. Rev. Stat. §84-712.05. 
 

https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-1524
mailto:sos.elect@nebraska.gov
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=84-712.01
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=84-712.05
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Attorney General Opinion 90035 (October 4, 1990) explicitly states that applications for 
absentee ballots are public records and are open to examination until, following the canvass of 
votes cast, they are deposited in the office of the count clerk or election commissioner for 
safekeeping. 
 

Where can I get a list of registered voters? 
Campaigns may request a Nebraska Voter Registration file from our office after completing a 
Public Service Request Form. The cost of the file is $500 and can be purchased with cash, 
money order, or check made payable to the Secretary of State. 
 
The file shall contain no more than the registrant’s name, residential and mailing address, 
phone number, registration status, voter ID number, date of birth, date of registration, 
precinct, polling place, party affiliation, district details, and voter history. The file shall be used 
solely for the purposes related to elections, political activities, voter registration, law 
enforcement, or jury selection. The file shall not be used for commercial purposes and may not 
be copied or posted, displayed, or made accessible online. 
 
Campaigns may also contact the county clerk or election commissioner for a voter file if they 
do not need the whole Nebraska file. County election officials can charge up to three cents a 
name according to Neb. Rev. Stat. §32-330. 

https://ago.nebraska.gov/opinions/public-examination-applications-absentee-ballots
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=32-330
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