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Mobile Notary Services: 

 

We are aware that mortgage companies are advertising on the internet for notaries to perform 

“signing agent” or “mobile notary” services.  These same advertisements claim that the notaries 

may charge fees of $125.00 to $175.00 for their notary services. 

 

The current Nebraska notary statute §33-133 states that the allowable fee for taking 

acknowledgment of deeds or other instruments is $5.00/ 

 

In addition, the only other allowable fee under §33-133 that may be added to the $5.00 fee for 

taking acknowledgement is the current mileage fee of 36.5 cents per mile traveled. 

 

The Nebraska Secretary of State’s Office urges notaries to exercise caution in considering these 

signing agent or mobile notary offers. 

 

If a bank or mortgage company wants to employ a notary to perform notary services, act as a 

“signing agent” or “mobile notary officer” and wants to pay more than the statutory rate, that is 

up to them.  However, the fee a notary may charge for their services is set forth in state law as 

described above.  Neither the notary nor a third party charging notary fees as part of the services 

they provide should exceed the statutory fees in charging for notary services.   

 

Example:  an itemized loan closing statement should not list “notary fees” at $125, unless notary 

services provided at the statutory rate, plus mileage at the statutory rate, equal $125. 

 

Reminder 

 

Always be sure to carefully follow your primary duties as a Notary when taking an 

acknowledgement: 

1) Personal appearance:  The person signing must personally appear before the Notary and 

acknowledge he executed the instrument. 

2) Identification:  If the Notary taking the acknowledgement does not personally know the 

signer, the signer must show satisfactory evidence (current government identification 

card that has a photo) to the Notary that they are the person described in and executing 

the instrument.   


