

From the Office of Secretary of State Robert B. Evnen

www.sos.ne.gov

For Release: February 25, 2020 Contact: Cindi Allen 402-471-8408

Presidential candidates identified for Nebraska's primary ballot

LINCOLN- Secretary of State Bob Evnen has set the slate of presidential candidates who will appear on the ballot for the Nebraska May 12th primary.

The candidates (in alphabetical order) are:

- Republican Party: Donald J. Trump, Bill Weld
- Democratic Party: Joseph R. Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Pete Buttigieg, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren.
- Libertarian Party: Max Abramson, Daniel Behrman, Lincoln Chafee, Jacob Hornberger, Jo Jorgensen, Adam Kokesh.

Nebraska law provides that the Secretary of State place candidates on the primary ballot who have been reported by the national news media as presidential candidates.

The office of Secretary of State conducted a review to determine the presidential primary list for the State of Nebraska. "In compliance with state law, my decision is not based on winners and losers, rather, which candidates are recognized nationally as active presidential candidates," Evnen said. Secretary Evnen also noted that his office has conferred with the Nebraska Republican, Democratic and Libertarian parties about the candidates.

The candidates have until March 10, 2020 to file an affidavit with the Secretary of State to remove their name from ballot if they wish to do so. March 12, 2020 is the last day for partisan presidential candidates who are not listed to file for the primary via petition. By the statutory deadline of March 20, 2020, the Secretary of State will certify the statewide ballot. For more information and a list of statewide candidates, visit the Secretary of State's website: https://sos.nebraska.gov/