
Steps to Obtain an Initial Notary Commission 

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A 
guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations 
of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include 
confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated 
parties, you may request a review of the document. 

To become a Nebraska Notary Public, you must meet the following qualifications: 

• Be at least 19 years old;
• Be a citizen of the United States or a qualified alien;
• Be a resident of Nebraska; or reside in a bordering state and maintain a Regular place of work or

business in Nebraska.
• Have not been convicted of a felony, or a crime involving fraud or dishonesty within the previous

five years.

Step 1: Take and pass the Nebraska Notary Exam 

Nebraska Notary Exam 

Click the link above to take the exam.  Review the duties and obligations under Notary Statutes, Frequently 
Asked Questions, and Rules and Regulations on our website to assist you in preparing for the exam. You 
will be redirected to ClassMarker to complete the exam online.  

Complete the test without assistance from others. The exam consists of 20 questions. You will have three 
attempts to achieve a passing score of 85% prior to being commissioned. Upon passing the exam, you will 
receive a digital passing examination certificate. The passing exam score will be valid for 90 days from the 
date of examination. If you are not successful after three attempts, you will no longer be eligible to be a 
notary public in Nebraska.  

Please save a copy of your passing examination certificate as a PDF to upload when you file your 
application online.  

Step 2: Obtain a $15,000 Notary Surety Bond 

These are available from most Nebraska insurance agents, as well as through various online providers. The 
Secretary of State’s Office does not provide bonds.  

When applying for your bond, you must use the name that you intend to use as your official notary name. 
Your bond should reference your home address, not your business address.  The applicant must sign the 
bond twice – once as the “principal” of the bond, and the second time in front of another notary public 
when completing the oath of office. Applicant signatures must be consistent on the bond.  

Purchase of an errors and omissions policy is optional, and you do not have to provide proof of such 
coverage to our office.  

https://sos.nebraska.gov/business-services/notary-statutes
https://sos.nebraska.gov/business-services/notary-frequently-asked-questions
https://sos.nebraska.gov/business-services/notary-frequently-asked-questions
https://sos.nebraska.gov/sites/sos.nebraska.gov/files/doc/Chapter-6_effective_7.1.21.pdf
https://www.classmarker.com/online-test/start/?quiz=rqe645a877d3c0a3


Mailing Address: Notary Division, P.O. Box 95104, Lincoln, NE 68509-5104 
 

Step 3: Complete the Nebraska Notary Public Online Application 

1. Go to the Secretary of State’s Online Notary Portal and login to your account. (If you don’t 
have an account, simply click the login button and you’ll see where you can create one. This 
is your user profile for the site.) 

2. Complete the online process for an initial commission or an amendment – new commission 
for expired notaries.  

o You will need to upload your exam certificate, bond, and possibly other supporting 
documents. Before beginning the online process, save PDFs of these documents for easy 
access. 

o Have your payment information ready.  The $30 filing fee can be paid online by credit/debit 
card or eCheck. State of Nebraska employees may use Interagency Billing Transaction (IBT). 

The system will not allow you to submit the application if any information is missing.   If you are missing 
information to complete your application  you may save your work as a draft and return to finish the 
application through “My Work Queue”. You will also be able to track the process of your application by 
logging in and checking your “Notary Work Queue.”  You will receive an email notifying you when your 
application has been processed. 

Step 4: Download your commission certificate  

Once you receive the email notifying you that your commission has been approved, log into the portal to 
download your new Commission Certificate. Print your certificate and take it to any office supply store to 
order your notary ink stamp seal. You must use an ink stamp seal engraved with the following:  

a. State of Nebraska   
b. General Notary or General Notarial   
c. Your name as commissioned   
d. The expiration date of the commission 

 
You may apply to become an In-person Electronic Notary and/or Online Notary while applying 
for your initial commission. To apply for In-person Electronic Notary or Online Notary, please 
review the separate qualifications and instructions available on our website.   
 

If you have any questions, please contact the Notary department at: sos.notary@nebraska.gov or (402)471-
2558.  

https://business.nebraska.gov/
https://business.nebraska.gov/
https://sos.nebraska.gov/business-services/notary-public
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