Steps to Obtain an In-Person Electronic Notary Public Registration

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

If you are already commissioned, log into your <u>online portal</u> to file an amendment to add this type of registration. You may apply to become an In-Person Electronic Notary Public while applying for an Initial Notary Commission.

Eligibility to register as an electronic notary public:

- Hold a valid commission as a Notary Public in the State of Nebraska;
- Satisfy the educational requirements;
- Pay the required fee.

Step 1: Complete the approved training course

In-Person Electronic Notary Training Course

Click the link above to take the required training course. You must complete the training course prior to completing the exam and applying for a registration. The course is administered through the Secretary of State's Office. Courses may be available through other agencies or companies, which may be helpful, but this is the required course to complete.

Click the links below to view the statutes and regulations for electronic notary. Please utilize the training video, electronic notary statutes, and the rules and regulations to assist you in preparing for the electronic notary exam.

Electronic Notary Public Statutes

Electronic Notary Public Regulations

Step 2: Take and pass the In-Person Electronic Notary Exam

In-Person Electronic Notary Exam

Click the link above to take the electronic notary exam. You will be redirected to ClassMarker to complete the exam online. When registering with ClassMarker, you will need to enter a password, *Nebraska*, to gain access to the test.

Complete the exam without the assistance from others. The exam consists of 20 questions. You will have three attempts to achieve a passing score of 85% prior to being registered. Upon passing the exam, you will receive a digital passing examination certificate. The passing exam score will be valid for 90 days from the date of examination. If you are not successful after three attempts, you will no longer be eligible to be an electronic notary public in Nebraska.

Please save a copy of your passing examination certificate as a PDF to upload when you file your application online.

Step 3: Complete the Online Notary Public Application/In-Person Electronic Notary Public Application

- 1. Go to the <u>Secretary of State's Online Notary Portal</u> and login to your account. (If you don't have an account, simply click the login button and you'll see where you can create one. This is your user profile for the site.)
- 2. Complete the online process for an In-Person Electronic Notary Public.
 - You will need to upload your exam certificate and possibly other supporting documents. Before beginning the online process, save PDFs of these documents for easy access.
 - Have your payment information ready. The \$100.00 filing fee can be paid online by credit/debit card or eCheck. State of Nebraska employees may use Interagency Billing Transaction (IBT).

The system will not allow you to submit the application if any information is missing. If you are missing information to complete your application, you may save your work as a draft and return to finish the application through "My Work Queue". You will also be able to track the process of your application by logging in and checking your "My Work Queue." You will receive an email notifying you when your application has been processed.

Step 4: Download your approval letter

Once you receive the email notifying you that your registration has been approved, log into the <u>portal</u> to download your approval letter. Print your letter and provide it to your solution provider to authorize your account. You must set up your seal through your selected approved solution provider. Your seal must contain the following:

- a. State of Nebraska
- b. Electronic Notary Public
- c. Your name as commissioned
- d. The expiration date of the commission

Electronic notaries who are approved will no longer receive a registration certificate. Applicants who are approved to provide the service will only receive an approval letter.

If you have any questions, please contact the Notary department at: sos.notary@nebraska.gov or (402)471-2558.